As you head out for the long weekend there is everything from fire advisories to fire restrictions and fire bans across much of Southern Alberta. 

As many head out to get in one last long weekend of camping in, the campfire is part of many weekend activities from cooking to roasting the perfect marshmallow s'mores. Unfortunately, many counties are in the same boat.

As of September 1, the below counties have a fire ban in place:

  • Wheatland County 
  • Rockyview County 
  • Kneehill County 
  • Red Deer County 

Other counties are under a fire restriction, which includes fireworks, torches or lanterns with open flame. Although this is not a Fire Ban, the counties still ask residents to use extra caution and be extra vigilant when burning while the restriction is in effect.

Those counties include but are not limited to the below: 

  • Foothills County 
  • Vulcan County 
  • Lethbridge County

For a full list of what communities have an advisory, restrictions or full ban visit