Local MLA's were shut-out of the new cabinet put together by Alberta Premier Jason Kenney Tuesday, April 30.

Neither Livingston-Macleod's Roger Reid or Highwood MLA R.J. Sigurdson made the cut for the front benches and will instead sit in the back..

In all there's 23 members of cabinet, including six women.

•Premier Jason Kenney, President of Executive Council and Minister of Intergovernmental Relations
•Demetrios Nicolaides, Minister of Advanced Education
•Devin Dreeshen, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
•Rebecca Shulz, Minister of Children’s Services
•Rajan Sawhney, Minister of Community and Social Services
•Leela Aheer, Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism and Status of Women
•Tanya Fir, Minister of Economic Development, Trade and Tourism
•Adriana LaGrange, Minister of Education
•Sonya Savage, Minister of Energy
•Jason Nixon, Minister of Environment and Parks
•Tyler Shandro, Minister of Health
•Rick Wilson, Minister of Indigenous Relations
•Prasad Panda, Minister of Infrastructure
•Doug Schweitzer, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General
•Jason Copping, Minister of Labour and Immigration
•Kaycee Madu, Minister of Municipal Affairs
•Josephine Pon, Minister of Seniors and Housing
•Nate Glubish, Minister of Service Alberta
•Ric McIver, Minister of Transportation
•Travis Toews, President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance

Associate Ministers

•Jason Luan, Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions
•Dale Nally, Associate Minister of Natural Gas
•Grant Hunter, Associate Minister of Red Tape

Parliamentary Secretary

•Muhammad Yaseen, Parliamentary Secretary of Immigration

Major non-cabinet assignments

•Jason Nixon, House Leader
•Doug Schweitzer, Deputy House Leader
•Ric McIver, Deputy House Leader
•Sonya Savage, Deputy House Leader
•Mike Ellis, Whip
•Joseph Schow, Deputy Whip


Send us your news tips, story ideas and comments at news@highriveronline.com