Voting is now open for the Town of Okotoks' portrait project. 

Tanya Zakarow, the town's current Sheep River Artist in Residence, will be painting portraits of three notable Okotokians.

Last month, locals submitted nominations and it's been narrowed down to 13 individuals.

They are: Bill McFarlane, Cathy McVee, Dale Fea, Dave Forsyth, Ed Sands, Gabby Bishop, Lori Chibry, Marg Cox, Mary Gillard, Ron Schreiber, Sandi Kennedy, Shirley Paradis, and Tom Barker (Birthday Girl).

Voting is open until August 27, and the winners will be announced on September 6.

Write-ups on the nominees and the link to vote can be seen here.


In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, HighRiverOnline  and OkotokOnline encourage you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the HighRiverOnline or OkotoksOnline app.