The Okotoks Oilers are changing leagues. 

In a statement on the BCHL website Saturday night (January 20th), the league confirmed that five teams from the AJHL will be a part of the BCHL, starting next season.

"The teams that have committed to terms include, the Blackfalds Bulldogs, Brooks Bandits, Okotoks Oilers, Sherwood Park Crusaders and Spruce Grove Saints."

More information from the league is expected in the coming weeks.

With the addition of these five new teams, the BCHL will have 22 teams for the 2024-2025 season.

The AJHL currently has 16 teams but will be down to 11 next season.

More to come...