A post on X on Friday night indicated that five teams from the AJHL will be playing for a different league next season.

According to the post, the Okotoks Oilers, Brooks Bandits, Blackfalds Bulldogs, Spruce Grove Saints, and the Sherwood Park Crusaders will be leaving the AJHL and will be part of the BCHL.

On May 1, 2023, the BCHL announced it wouldn't renew its agreement with Hockey Canada, creating its independent league.

“The Oilers have no comment at this time on yesterday's social media rumours. Currently, we are focused on continuing our season and entertaining a record number of fans at Centennial Arena,” said Okotoks Oilers Assistant General Manager Tyler King.

The BCHL has confirmed all five teams will be joining the league.

Currently, 17 teams are playing in the BCHL.

More to come…