Author: AM1140/Eagle 100.9
The 2006 Grande Prairie Stompede wrapped up Sunday.
The big winner after 5 days of W-P-C-A action was Neal Walgenbach in the Super 8 Motel outfit along with outriders Shawn Calf Robe and Eddie Melville.
Coming off barrel number 2 in heat 9, Walgenbach won the Dave Lewis sudden death championship final heat over Rick Fraser, Barry Hodgson and Reg Johnstone with the top time for the night of 1:17.35.
Rick Fraser won the Ralph Vigen memorial award for having the top 4 day aggregate time of 5:16.89. 
High River's Jason Glass finished 24th and Brian Mayan was 31st.
Reg Johnstone received the U-F-A community ambassador award given to the driver who best promotes the sport of chuckwagon racing in the local community.
Jerry Bremner received the Hayes Vegetation Ltd. Wheels On Fire award for posting the fastest time during the first 4 nights with a 1:17.29 on night 1.
The next stop for the wpca pro tour will be in Medicine Hat starting Friday