The British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL) has announced the format for their final playoff format to determine which team reigns supreme in the BCHL.

The Rocky Mountain Challenge postseason series will see the Alberta champions take on the B.C. champions to determine who is the league champion this year.

The two provincial champions will play a best-of-three series at the Alberta champion's home rink between May 31 and June 2.

"With the addition of the five teams from Alberta midseason and having them play a separate schedule from our B.C. teams, this felt like the perfect way to introduce competition between the two provinces, while giving the athletes a memorable event to cap off 2023-24," said BCHL Commissioner Steven Cocker in a media release on March 28. "If this season is any indication, this is bound to be an action-packed weekend and will set the table for the exciting future of the BCHL."

The Rocky Mountain Challenge will only happen this year, as the teams from Alberta will be fully integrated into the BCHL next season, and all of the teams will be competing for the same BCHL championship.

The B.C. portion of the Rogers BCHL playoffs starts Friday, April 5th, and the Alberta playoff schedule begins on Wednesday, April 10.