The Okotoks Bisons season came to an end on April 3, 2022, with the team holding their heads high as HJHL Champions and Provincial Junior B Bronze medalists

That incredible season for the Bisons was honoured Friday, April 8 during their annual awards banquet.

The evening had the coaching staff, operations team, and volunteers hand out hardware along with saying goodbye to players moving on from the team. 

It was a great season, says general manager Ryan Rarick, not just on the ice but off as well. 

"One thing that was constant is how great this dressing room was and how well they all got along. I mean that that probably is a big reason why we were successful as we were because they all battled for each other, and they all got along. That's not always the case in a dressing room."

22-year-old right winger Even Woods took home a few awards including the President's Award, Most Dedicated player, the Leadership Award, Academic Achievement as well as one of three players to get the Mosby Player Scholarship. 

Bisons player even woods holds 4 of his 5 awards Even Woods with the President's Award, Most Dedicated player, the Leadership Award and Academic Achievement

"Overall it was a great season. It was the best season of hockey I've ever had and just such a great group of guys. Great staff, great coaching, great parents, everyone involved. It was just a super awesome season and tonight's a really fun way to celebrate it."

Also taking home the Mosby Player Scholarship was first-year Alaister Standen. He also won Hardest Working Bison, Top Defensive Player, and the MVP award. 

He felt honoured, humbled and proud to have his team behind him. 

"It feels great," says Standen, "I mean you work hard all year long with the guys and it's nice to share it with them. It's not just my award 'cause I couldn't have done it alone, it's so good."

Nights like this are important to the team, says Rarick. 

"It's nice to give those players acknowledgement. You feel bad for the ones that don't win awards 'cause they all deserve something but nights like this are just awesome.” 

Mosby Player Scholarships - Evan Woods Alaister Standen Andrew BonhamGM Ryan Rarick announces the Mosby Player Scholarships recipients. Alaister Standen, Evan Woods and Andrew Bonham.


-Plus Minus - AJ Belanger
-Most Sportsmanlike Player - Travis Thorhaug
-Most improved Player - Cabe Blindkilde
-Hardest Working Bison - Alaister Standen
-Rookie of The Year - Kegan Law / Adam Kirkpatrick
-Scoring - AJ Belanger
-Top Defensive Player - Alaister Standen
-Most Dedicated Player- Evan Woods
-Academic Achievement - Evan Woods
-Perseverance, No Guts No Glory - Andrew Bonham
-Heart, Pride and Sacrifice - Cabe Blindkilde
-Leadership Award- Evan Woods
-Top Defenceman - Brayden Kapty
-MVP - Alaister Standen
-Playoff MVP - Brayden Kapty/ Jaevon Buschlen
-Mosby Player Scholarships - Evan Woods/ Alaister Standen/ Andrew Bonham
-President's Award - Evan Woods